Erasmus House

One of Brussels' oldest Gothic houses (1450-1515), it accomodates a collection of paintings from Holbein to Bosch and Matsys, a number of antiquarian books and a philosophical garden.

In this beautiful house built at the turn of the 16th century, turned into a museum in 1932 and classified as a historic building in 1937, is a collection of furniture, works of art, engravings, books and archives giving a unique insight into various moments in European history: the reign of Charles V, the Renaissance, the rise of humanism, the development of printing and the emerging religious conflicts. The museum preserves rare and ancient editions of Erasmus's writings, as well as a collection of 15th and 16th century paintings. On display are a portrait by Hans Holbein, a sketch by Albrecht Dürer, a painting attributed to Quinten Metsys, the Temptation of St Anthony by Pieter Huys, a nativity scene in the tradition of Gérard David and above all, The Adoration of the Magi, a triptych by Hieronymus Bosch, formerly kept at the Collegiate Church of Saints Peter and Guidon. Erasmus stayed in this house in 1521 where both the intellectual and private life of this great philologist and theologist shines through paintings, antique books and a philosophical garden.